AAS Pupil Support Services

Mission Statement

Our mission is to support AAS in providing an inclusive Pre-K through Grade 12 multidisciplinary student support system that respects learner differences, facilitates attainment of AAS’s high educational standards and promotes the development of lifelong learners. 

Pupil Support Services believes:

- Students build self-confidence and better prepare themselves to be lifelong learners by developing self-advocacy skills and by understanding their learning needs.
- It is important to work with the whole child (intellectually, socially, emotionally, and physically) and to build on a student’s strengths as well as to address areas of concern.
- Learning issues may change as the child grows and developmental differences need to be considered; resources should be allocated as needed.
- An effective student support program requires a team approach with all team members sharing responsibility for the child’s learning. Teams may include students, parents, teachers, student support personnel, or administrators.
- Staying current with research and best practices helps the team determine how to address student needs.
- An effective support program is articulated in Pre-K through Grade12, including procedures and policies, vocabulary, assessments, entrance and exit criteria, transition plans, and other essential components.

Meet the Pupil Support Services Faculty

The Anglo-American School of Moscow’s Pupil Support Services Team and Learning Resources Department is a point of pride at AAS. We have a group of talented educators comprised of learning support teachers, teachers' assistants, counselors, a psychologist and an occupational therapist assistant, who collaborate effectively to assure each student’s individual academic and holistic excellence. We support students individually to personalize their learning and work with classroom teachers to differentiate their classroom instruction, co-teach, and develop lesson plans. We also set individual goals with each of our students, support them to meet those goals, and review their progress regularly.  These goals range from academic support in a particular subject, to learning behaviors such as organization, self-advocacy, study skills, note-taking, and time-management. While our primary focus is supporting students who are having learning difficulties, we work diligently to support any student who is in need of additional support.

School Psychologist

The AAS school psychologist supports the Elementary, Middle and High School Teams to assure quality, consistency, and continuity of services. Assessment of academic, developmental, and severe emotional/behavioral disturbances is provided to facilitate the development of individualized academic programs.  The psychologist consults with parents, teachers, and administrators regarding learning and behavior issues, provides crisis support, and conducts in-service training.

Our school psychologist is Dr. Jay Wilson. Her email address is jay.wilson@aas.ru. Please visit our School Psychologist page to learn more.

School Counselors

The AAS Counseling Program provides academic and social support to all members of the school community. This is done through interventive and preventive strategies in individual, small group and classroom settings.  Counselors in the Elementary, Middle and High School work with students, teachers and parents to coordinate home and school issues.  The High School offers IB and college counseling as well.  Counselor referrals may be made by students, teachers and parents.

Our school counselors are:
- Elementary School: Donna Hinton, donna.hinton@aas.ru.  and Sharon Ronan, sharon.ronan@aas.ru Please visit our ES Counselors page to learn more.
- Middle School: Joe George,  joe.george@aas.ru, and Emily Deutschman, emily.deutschman@aas.ru. Please visit our MS Counselors page to learn more.
- High School: Bryn Will, bryn.will@aas.ru, and Jacob Gray, jacob.gray@aas.ru. Please visit our HS Counselors page to learn more.

Speech-Language Pathologist

The role of the speech-language pathologist is to assess, diagnose, treat, and help prevent speech, language, cognitive, communication, voice, fluency, and other related disorders.  At AAS, speech and language services are available to students in Pre-K through Grade 12.

Our speech-language pathologist is Peggy Owen. Her email address is peggy.owen@aas.ru.

Occupational Therapist Assistant

Through purposeful activities and intervention, the occupational therapist assistant helps AAS students of all ages who face everyday challenges to promote, regain, or maintain their health and improve their participation in the school environment. Treatment varies by student needs and may include environmental modifications and special equipment, with the goal of improving students’ ability to carry out activities independently and confidently.

Our occupational therapist assistant is Banu Ergoz. Her email address is banu.ergoz@aas.ru.

Resource Teachers (Special Educators)

Resource teachers in the Elementary, Middle and High Schools provide academic support to students with identified educational needs by working with teachers and students in the regular or resource classroom.  In addition, the resource teacher evaluates referred students, participates in the development of individualized intervention programs, and monitors the progress of students receiving resource support through observations and administration of standardized tests. 

Our resource teachers are:
- Elementary School: Richard Olson, richard.olson@aas.ru, and  Eleanor Whiteley, eleanor.whiteley@aas.ru 
- Middle School: Erin Pedder, erin.pedder@aas.ru
- High School: Katrina Senour, katrina.senour@aas.ru

AAS Health Center

AAS supports the health of all students through the Health Center staff. Our health center is staffed by Dr. Cesar Dalida and Natalie Finnegan, RN. Their email address is health.office@aas.ru. Please visit our Health Center page to learn more.

Pupil Support Services Process

Consideration for Pupil Support Services (PSS) can be requested by a parent, student, or AAS staff member to any member of the Pupil Support Team (PST). A request for consideration does not guarantee that a student will receive services.  Some requests are responded to as consultations, which are brief and do not involve ongoing PST support.  Parents are notified of any request made on behalf of their student, and are encouraged to take an active role as a member of the support team.

© 2017 THE Anglo-American School of Moscow | +7 (495) 231-4488 | 1 Beregovaya street | 125367 Moscow, Russia