High School Flash

Message From:

HS Principal, Christopher Schuster chris.schuster@aas.ru
HS Associate Principal, Matthew Groves matthew.groves@aas.ru

Welcome back to our French Exchange, Spanish Immersion and Russian Immersion students. By all accounts, an enjoyable and educational time was had by all. Thank you to Mme. Waller, Mme. Laborde, Sra. Santa-Maria, Sr. Bennett, Ms Mamina and Mr. Collins for chaperoning the trips. Personal thanks for the delicious snacks that were shared with faculty on their return.

Please come and support our performers at the MS/HS Music Drama Variety Show on Tuesday October 15 @ 15:45 in the Malyy. Our students always appreciate an audience to acknowledge their talents.

The PSAT will happen on Wednesday October 16 for Grades 10-11. Seniors will be heading to St. Basils for their photo. Grade 9’s will be on campus focusing on their wellness. 

The college fair was a huge success. Thank you to the counselors and the HS team for running a great event!

We have two more spirit days this week to help celebrate the 70th Anniversary of AAS! 
  • Thursday (Oct. 10): 1980s and 1990s
  • Friday (Oct. 11): 2000s and 2010s

Have a great week!

NOTES From THE IB OFFICE

Sean Sonderman   sean.sonderman@aas.ru

Grade 11 Goal Setting Meetings Coming Soon! Mr. Sonderman is currently meeting with all Grade 11 students in the final phase of the goal setting process. The process is designed to motivate students and to lay the groundwork for setting personal and academic goals, including university aspirations. Individual students set academic goals related to their respective slates of Diploma courses. The baseline set from this process provides perspective, as well as a dose of reality, as students move closer to the most challenging semesters of the IBDP, semester 2 of Grade 11 and semester 1 of Grade 12. Please ask your child about their meeting.

FROM THE COLLEGE OFFICE AND COUNSELORS:

Bryn Will bryn.will@aas.ru
Lauren Zimmerman lauren.zimmerman@aas.ru

  • As the days get shorter and the weather gets colder, please remember that these changes can have a strong effect on the mood of both you and your child(ren).  Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) can take you by surprise, especially if you are new to Moscow and Russia.  Here is some information from the Mayo clinic about symptoms and treatments for SAD, so that you can take steps to increase your sense of well-being during the dark fall and winter. 
  • Thank you to all of the parents and students who attended our first Blind University Fair on Monday. Initial reports are all very positive as it allowed students and representatives to focus on the qualities and characteristics that best fit each student. It was also a fun way to learn more about a variety of universities. We plan to continue this event next year.
  • Thank you to those parents who responded to the Parent Coffee interest survey. Our first counselor coffee will focus on the topic of effective communication strategies to use with children and teens. The date and time for this conversation is Friday, October 18 at 9:30 a.m. The location is the Community Room. All are welcome.
  • University Visits Next week:
    • Oct 14 @ 8:30 am on the 5th floor. - Northeastern University
    • Oct. 17 @ 10 am on the 5th floor - Glion and Les Roches Universities
  • PSAT REMINDER All grade 10 and 11 students will take the PSAT on October 16. The test will begin at 9:15 am at the regular start time for class. Please make sure your child has a healthy breakfast and comes to school with number 2 pencils, erasers, and a calculator. More information, including a practice test, can be found here.



Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jun 27
Mon, Jun 28
Tue, Jun 29
Wed, Jun 30
Thu, Jul 1
Fri, Jul 2
Sat, Jul 3
Sun, Jul 4
Mon, Jul 5
Tue, Jul 6
Wed, Jul 7
Thu, Jul 8
Fri, Jul 9
Sat, Jul 10
Sun, Jul 11
Mon, Jul 12
Tue, Jul 13
Wed, Jul 14
Thu, Jul 15
Fri, Jul 16
Sat, Jul 17
Sun, Jul 18
Mon, Jul 19
Tue, Jul 20
Wed, Jul 21
Visual update for aas.ru website
-
CR area
Thu, Jul 22
Fri, Jul 23
Sat, Jul 24
Sun, Jul 25
Mon, Jul 26
Tue, Jul 27
Wed, Jul 28
Thu, Jul 29
Fri, Jul 30
Sat, Jul 31

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • High School
  • MS/HS Rotation Days
  • PTO
  • Schoolwide


Explore